Monday, November 12, 2018

The BV's - Every Story Is A Ghost Story

Frederik Jehle and Josh Turner formed The BV's in 2016 after meeting on a university exchange programm in Cornwall and becoming roommates. They released their debut album, Speaking From A Distance, in 2017 and the follow-up EP, Interpunktion in early 2018. In summer 2018, the BV’s returned to the house in Cornwall where they met to record their second LP, which is scheduled for release on Kleine Untergrund Schallplatten in 2019. 
Their new single is called 'Every Story Is A Ghost Story' and is out on 7" vinyl on Cloudberry Records. Both the title song and the b-side 'Happy, Alright?' are indie-pop gems following the duo's unique and distinctive sound. 
Make sure to check them out below! 

Sunday, October 28, 2018

Uma & The Wandering Stars - Get Out

Uma & The Wandering Stars is the music project of London based singer and songwriter Uma Starets and musicians from different backgrounds, who have been wandering the world playing music. With varying influences, their music is a mixture of shoegaze, indie pop and alt-rock. 
October 26th was the official release date of 'Get Out', the fourth single off their debut EP Trapped, which will be released later on. 'Get Out' is a dream pop/shoegazey track that inspired the name and theme of the EP. Feelings of hopelessness and melancholy give way to positivity and transform it into a euphoric tune with the help of Uma's velvety voice. The single is accompanied with an excellent video created by Bosco Shane. 
You can watch the video below and listen to 'Get Out' on Spotify and other digital platforms. 

Friday, September 14, 2018

D4RKSTAR - Louder

There is an artist you should follow. 
There is an album you should check. 
And - I promise you - you will fall for it. 
D4RKSTAR is the moniker of Gothenburg based, Swedish musician Andreas Lindh. After a 5-year hiatus from making music, his first solo album Black Hearts (June 2018) came about as a need to express personal feelings and situations. Needless to say, do not expect a "cheerful" album. Do expect, however, to be drawn in a highly evocative album, which blends darkwave, shoegaze and electro with Andreas' smooth vocals. And though most of the nine tracks are on the long side, they are so addictive that you will be asking for a few more minutes of them. 
'Louder' is the latest single off the album. It presents a dreamlike, still edgy, soundscape and perfectly balances melancholy undertones with a certain indie pop touch. The single includes a remix by electronica maestro Lønnkrog and gives off nostalgic Depeche Mode vibes. 
You can check a video for 'Louder' below along with the whole album already available via Modernshortcuts on various digital platforms.

Friday, April 27, 2018

Holy Now - Think I Need The Light

Holy Now are an indie-pop quartet (Julia Olander, Ylva Holmdahl, Samuel von Bahr Jemth, Hampus Eiderström Swahn) from Gothenburg, Sweden and today is the day they are releasing their debut album Think I Need The Light
Indie-pop fans will find the album to be lavish in upbeat, shimmering guitars and drum beats accompanied by Julia Olander's distinctive voice. Inspired by Gothenburg rain, heartbreaks and friendship, the 8-track album feels like looking at the future through cherry blossoms.
Think I Need The Light is available on limited edition vinyl and CD via Lazy Octopus Records and on various listening platforms. The album is already among our favourites of the year. Be sure to check it out below! 

Dose - Furniture

Dose are an experimental noise-rock band from Newcastle. They have been together under many iterations since 2015, blending art rock, krautrock and slowcore into one melodically obscure effect. Furniture is their latest single, which was released in February and is officially out today on 7" vinyl via A Turntable Friend Records
Inspired by the experience of playing in their squalid, decaying practice space, Furniture was written by Sean Turland and Ewan Barr and recorded at Suburban Home Studio with MJ from Hookworms. The full band includes bassist Matthew Collerton, guitar/synth/samples from Sam Campbell and drummer Joe Donkin. 
Both 'Furniture' and 'Opaque' are drenched in melodic guitars spiraling around Ewan’s spoken word overlapping Sean’s distant vocals building up an emotionally dynamic atmosphere. 
Check out  the single and the video for 'Furniture' below!